Atlantic Area Programme 2014-2020 finally approved by the European Commission

The European Commission approved the Transnational Programme Atlantic Area 2014-2020 on 17 November 2015.

The new Atlantic Area 2014-2020 which promotes cooperation between 38 atlantic regions from 5 European Union Member States: France, Spain, Portugal, Ireland and the United Kingdom now, in this 2014-2020 period, also includes the Canary Islands (Spain) and the Autonomous Regions of Madeira and Azores (Portugal), assuring greater geographical coherence.

The first call for Projects is expected to launch in the first semester of 2016.

The Programme’s Four Priorities are:

  • Stimulating innovation and competitiveness, accelerating intelligent growth
  • Fostering resource efficiency, promoting renewable energies
  • Strengthening the territory’s resilience to risks of natural, climate and human origin, supporting a better management of the environment
  • Enhancing biodiversity and the natural and cultural assets in the Atlantic region